Olympic manicure 2 – medals

So my other Olympic manicure got me a lot of compliments, but it was so colourful and bright, and it’s easy to get tired of a loud manicure. You immediately want to switch it up. Also, it’s only the Olympics every 4 years, so I needed to fit in at least one more look! This time around I was inspired by the medals.

 

I started with two coats of this shimmery white polish. It’s not very opaque, and you can still see the original nails underneath.

 

I used purple for the medal bands, as this is quite close to the actual purple colour being used in the medal ceremonies in London.

I used thin paint brushes, just ordinary ones that you can buy anywhere, to confidently ‘flick out’ each V-shaped medal band.

My medal podium. Barry M, Stargazer and Rimmel.

 

I used the paintbrush to make each small round medal.

 

For my thumbs I decided to go for a traditional Olympic image: the laurel wreath. I kept it in the same purple colour, to keep a nice aesthetic look to my nails, and this was done freehand with the paintbrush.

 

The finished wreath. This was actually a lot easier than I thought it would be. Just go slow, one ‘leaf’ at a time, building it up.

 

The finished manicure – what do you think? Worthy of a gold medal? : )

 

Ingredients list

Prep time: ~1 hour.

Base coat: Nails Inc Kensington Caviar

Top coat: Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

Polish(es): Natural Collection Sugar Mouse, Barry M Gold Glitter, Stargazer Chrome Metallic Nail Varnish, Rimmel 60 Seconds Star Dust, Barry M Bright Purple

Comments
2 Responses to “Olympic manicure 2 – medals”
  1. Sopapilla says:

    Well done! Clever design.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I’ve never seen before! I had three posts on Olympic-inspired nail art (rings, Team GB and medals), and I saw so many other exciting manicures (not least on the athletes themselves) that I have to […]



Leave a Reply

