New Year’s Nails

I spent New Year’s Eve in Australia this year, my first time spending the winter holidays in the sunshine. It was a lovely vacation, a lot of time was spent at the beach, by a pool, and just hanging out with friends and family. I was there with my mum and my sister – so naturally I used their hands as canvasses as well!

Some of the tools used.

My nails: I started with a light pink base – as we were in the sunshine, I did not feel like going for dark colours. It’s summer over there!

I added two silver stripes with a nail art bush for some sparkle. Most times I plan my manicures in advance, maybe even draw them out on paper, but this time I was just improvising.

I then added some hot pink detailing, because why not? : )

On to my mum’s nails – a different, perhaps a bit more typical New Year’s look. We started with a navy blue base.

We then added Barry M Silver Glitter to the tips – since New Year’s is meant to be sparkly!

A nice little detail. ; ) I used an orange stick to shape the numbers.

Cheers!

For my sister’s nails we started with a sparkly gold base. I had never seen this brand before – this was bought in Perth. It needed a few coats, as it was very transparent.

Just look at that name!

We then started experimenting with neon lines and stripes. These were made with the Do It Yourself! Nail Art Pens (I’ve seen them sold in pairs, and my sister has the neon pink and orange set – a gift from me).

Me adding detailing to my sister’s nails.

The finished nails had an Aztec feel to them.

Three very different festive looks.

The next day we started from scratch again, as the gold glitter was too faint for my sister’s liking.

They certainly looked cool in UV light!

I can’t wait to go back to Perth’s amazing beaches!

Ingredients list

Prep time: ~1 hour per manicure, though there was a lot of overlapping.

Base coat: Nails Inc Kensington Caviar

Top coat: Nails Inc Kensington Caviar

Polish(es):

Pink nails

17 Fast Finish Nail Polish Fairy Cake, Kiss Silver Nail Art Brush, Do It Yourself! Nail Art Set (Pink)

Blue nails

17 Fast Finish Nail Polish dark blue colour (can’t remember the name), Barry M Silver Glitter

Neon Aztec nails

Hot Topic bright pink polish (with a skull on the bottle – don’t know the name), Rokk 96 Gold Digger, Do It Yourself! Nail Art Set (Pink and Orange), M Nail Art brush (bought at Walgreens), Kiss Brush-On Nail Art Brush Black

Comments
One Response to “New Year’s Nails”
  1. Pia says:

    Way cool! Australia in Christmas and New Year, does it get any better? Love the blue and sparkly nails!

Leave a Reply

