Space nails

I’m really excited to share this nail art tutorial with you. My sister requested this a while back but we haven’t had a chance to get together in weeks. I saw her this past weekend and in exchange for a drink at the bar (yummy banana cocktail), she got a space manicure. It was very quick and easy, and I think the end result (especially with the OPI glitter) was stunning! Might have to do this on myself soon as well!

My sister's nails and the book source of my inspiration.

The base colour for the manicure, it looks purple in the bottle but it is a deep dark blue with a hint of shimmer.

The Sally Hansen colour, I thought the name was pretty fitting!

This was the white polish used. It is a very opaque colour, my sister described it as tipp-ex.

I used this pink colour to add more exuberance to the 'galaxy' effect of the manicure. As you can tell, I was inspired by the image from the book used as background here.

I also used this yellow colour for effect.

You need a white nail art brush to create the stars.

And finally this OPI polish with different size glitters, was used to add some more 'stars' and the all important sparkle.

After painting only one coat of the Sally Hansen dark blue colour (you could also go for a black base), I gently dabbed some white polish on using tissue paper. Be careful not to let the paper get soggy, or it will stick to the nail. I used one crumpled-up piece of paper for two nails then discarded it.

I then used the same method to layer some pink and yellow on top of the white, to add some depth to the 'galaxy'. It doesn't have to be very precise, all nails will look different and unique.

Using the white nail art brush, I carefully created stars, sticking mainly to the areas already coloured in white/pink/yellow.

Then add one coat of glitter, making sure the white stars have all dried properly first - it will not look as good if they run.

Finish off with a layer of top coat and the space manicure is complete.

Ingredients list

Prep time: ~1 hour

Base coat and top coat: Sally Hansen Double Duty Strengthening Base & Top Coat

Polish(es): Sally Hansen Lacquer Shine 06 Spark, Petites French White, Boots No.7 Stay Perfect Milan, Hot Looks Sherbet Lemons, OPI Servin’ Up Sparkle, Kiss White Nail Art Brush

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Space nails”
  1. Pia says:

    I have to say I am impressed, Cecilia you are really talented. Well done! xxx

  2. I love this one, do mine like that!

Leave a Reply

