Nailphilia

So, it was a while ago, but here are my photos from the Nailphilia exhibition in London. I thought it was pretty good, sort of small, but interesting. I had not expected to see so many plastic hands though, a bit creepy with them all hanging from ceilings and such to be honest. My only criticism is that there was a large binder full of images from various nail designs in magazine shoots. I think it would have been a lot more effective to have some of these images blown up into large photographs/posters and displayed on the walls. I’m not sure everyone could be bothered to look through the book as I did.

I was not very familiar with that part of East London, and I did have a lot of fun exploring the Columbia Road Flower Market before going to the exhibition. This market takes place every Sunday, just a 15 min walk from where the exhibition took place.

So without further ado, here are some images.

A wall on the way to Columbia Rd.

The Columbia Road Flower Market is on every Sunday in East London.

The flowers are pretty cheap, everywhere people were shouting "three for a fiver!".

Pretty flowers.

Aztec nails at the exhibition, and of course my own design.

From Beyoncé's Run The World (Girls) music video.

A lot of the nails on display were pretty extreme, but very artistic.

I really liked this, there was a wall of images of different ail designs submitted I think by regular nail enthusiasts.

This was one of the ones featured on the wall - how cute are these penguins!?!

Comments
2 Responses to “Nailphilia”
  1. Camilla says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the aztec ones, if you feel inspired and want to practise doing something similar then i’ll be a happy guinea pig…!

  2. Pia says:

    The aztec nail exhibition looks like the oars representing the University rowing teams on the walls in the pubs in Oxford. 🙂

Leave a Reply

