Nailphilia-worthy manicure

Before going to the Nailphilia art exhibition, I wanted to make sure my own nails looked fabulous. Because it was the weekend and I had a lot of time, I made myself comfortable with a cup or two of green tea and made this design. Lots of pictures, but I quite like showing you the whole process. What do you think?

Close up of nail polishes used. Barry M (Blueberry), H&M (Blue My Mind), as well as blue (M Nail Art brush - bought this at Walgreens in the US) and silver (Kiss) nail art bushes. I decided after this picture was taken to incorporate a white (Kiss) one into the design as well.

Image of the new blue colours vs my old fading french manicure. My nails are a lot shorter than usual, but sometimes it's nice to cut them down and start again as it were.

Close up of the other ingredients. I am currently loving the Nails Inc Kensington Caviar base and separate top coat. I bought these ones as a set at Boots for £8, where they were also selling them individually for £15. Bargain!

Got to have some Horatio Caine! Perfect distraction when nails are drying.

I like to give myself a proper manicure with cuticle treatment and hand cream, it's a lot more fun this way.

After massaging in cuticle cream and using an orange stick to push them back, I put on this base coat and let it dry for a good amount of time (enough to let Horatio deliver some cracking one liners!).

Then the Barry M baby blue colour. I used two coats of this to get it opaque. I like the colour contrasting with the black and white Chanel ad.

This is what the Barry M Blueberry looks like after two coats. Please excuse the nail polish outside the nail. 🙂

I then used the M Nail Art pen (I think that is the brand anyway) to create my upside down V design. I started off by drawing two dots like this on each nail.

In one continuous motion, place the nail art brush on the outside of the nail and flick it in to connect with the dot in the middle. Repeat on the other side. It's easy to do once you've gotten the hang of it. Make sure drops of nail polish don't suddenly travel down onto your nail.

I then filled in the space between my new upside down Vs with the H&M polish. Again, apologies for the messy look. I find it easier to just get nail polish everywhere and then clean it up afterwards with a q-tip and polish remover.

Close up of thumb nail now that it has been filled in with a darker blue. I could have left the design like this, but I decided to add more detail and some sparkly silver polish.

Before adding silver I chose to add this white triangle at the base of the nail. If I could go back and change anything about my nail design, I would have made this white triangle first as it would have made it look more even. Oh well, you live and learn!

The finished nail design! I added two Vs of silver, and one of white dots (the same white nail art brush). I finished it all off with the Nails Inc top coat and I've received a lot of compliments so far.

Well, I hope you liked this design. I thought it was Nailphilia-worthy for sure – in fact the last picture was taken at the exhibition the day after.

I think this design would look amazing with red/purple colours, and a splash of gold. So I will have to try that soon as well. I don’t have a gold nail art brush though, so I will have to find one of those first.

Ingredients list

Prep time: ~2.5 hours. This includes removing nail polish beforehand, cuticle care etc. I did also distract myself by watching tv shows and constantly run to the kitchen and get more tea.

Base coat: Nails Inc Kensington Caviar

Top coat: Nails Inc Kensington Caviar

Polish(es): Barry M Blueberry, H&M Blue My Mind, Kiss white and silver nail art brushes, M Nail Art brush (bought at Walgreens).

Comments
4 Responses to “Nailphilia-worthy manicure”
  1. Pia says:

    Wow Cecilia you really are an artist! Well done, and fun to see all the different steps in the process. I am inspired. My nails today are pink with some stars on them, not as artistic as yours.
    xxx

  2. I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site

Leave a Reply

